Welcome to the website of the Institute of Reproductive Genetics (IRG).

The IRG was established in 2020 at the Medical Faculty of the University of Münster and under the supervision of Prof. Dr. med. Frank Tüttelmann – the first professor of reproductive genetics in Germany – it is one of very few institutes worldwide dedicated specifically to the genetic underpinnings of reproductive health and mammalian fertility.

The main research foci of the IRG are male and female infertility, differences of sex development, and endocrine disorders associated with reproductive functions. The work at the institute aims to identify novel genetic causes for such conditions, functionally scrutinise them, and quickly translate them into the clinical setting.

The IRG hosts a number of different research lines as, for example, large scale exome sequencing, analyses of meiotic processes, and in vitro or in silico functional as well as bioinformatic approaches. This work is currently closely related to the DFG-funded clinical research unit 'Male Germ Cells: from Genes to Function' (CRU326).

You can learn more about our current projects, our cooperation partners, recent publications, and our teaching offers at the University on the following pages.

All the best from your ReproGenetics team!

Home

Herzlich willkommen auf den Seiten des Instituts für Reproduktionsgenetik (IRG).

Das IRG wurde 2020 an der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Münster gegründet. Unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. med. Frank Tüttelmann – dem ersten Professor für Reproduktionsgenetik in Deutschland ist es eines der wenigen Institute weltweit, welches sich speziell mit den genetischen Grundlagen der reproduktiven Gesundheit befasst.

Die Hauptforschungsschwerpunkte des IRG sind dabei männliche und weibliche Unfruchtbarkeit (Infertilität), Varianten der Geschlechtsdifferenzierung und endokrine Störungen im Zusammenhang mit den verschiedenen Fortpflanzungsfunktionen des Menschen. Die Arbeit am Institut zielt darauf ab, bislang unbekannte genetische Ursachen für diese Erkrankungen zu identifizieren, funktionell zu charakterisieren und die Erkenntnisse effektiv in die Klinik zu überführen.

Das Wissenschaftsteam greift dafür auf ein breites Spektrum unterschiedlicher Forschungsansätze zurück, wie zum Beispiel groß angelegte Exom-Sequenzierungen, die Analyse meiotischer Prozesse oder funktionelle und bioinformatische in vitro oder in silico Methoden. Diese Arbeiten sind derzeit eng mit der DFG-geförderten klinischen Forschungsgruppe 'Male Germ Cells: from Genes to Function' (CRU326) verzahnt.

Erfahren Sie auf den folgenden Seiten mehr über unsere laufenden Projekte, unsere Kooperationspartner, aktuelle Publikationen und unsere Lehr-Angebote an der Uni Münster.

Viel Spaß wünscht das Team der ReproGenetik!